



THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE.

Published by Anthority.

WELLINGTON, SATURDAY, DECEMBER 31, 1870.

G. F. Bowen, Governor.

A PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS by an Act of the Imperial Parliament, passed in the fifteenth and sixteenth years of the reign of Her present Majesty, cap. 72, intituled "An Act to grant a Representative Constitution to the Colony of New Zealand," the several Provinces of Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, Nelson, Canterbury, and Otago are thereby established, and it is enacted that for each of the said Provinces there shall be a Superintendent and

Provincial Council: And whereas by the said Act it is further enacted that every Provincial Council shall continue for the period of four years from the day of return of the Writs for choosing the same, and no longer: Provided always that it shall be lawful for the Governor of New Zealand, by Proclamation or otherwise, to dissolve the same whenever he shall think it expedient so to do:

Now therefore, I, Sir George Ferguson Bowen, the Governor of the Colony of New Zealand, do, by this Proclamation, dissolve the Provincial Council of the said Province of Otago accordingly.

Given under the hand of His Excellency Sir George Ferguson Bowen, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over Her Majesty's Colony of New Zealand and its Dependencies, and Vice-Admiral of the same; and issued under the Seal of the said Colony, at Wellington, this thirty-first day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy.

W. GISBORNE.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

G. F. Bowen, Governor.

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GRANTING:

WHEREAS by "The Regulation of Elections Act, 1870," it is enacted that it shall be lawful for the Governor, by Warrant under his hand, from time to time to appoint polling places for each Electoral District, within one mile of the limits thereof, and to appoint any one of such polling places to be the principal polling place for the district, and all or any of such polling places from time to time to abolish, and, if he think fit, to appoint other polling places in lieu of those abolished, and that every such Warrant shall be published in the New Zealand Gazette : Provided always that no polling place shall be appointed by the Governor under the said Act unless he shall be first satisfied that the place to be appointed is more convenient than any other for at least twenty electors to record their votes thereat. And whereas by Warrants under the hand of the Governor, certain places were appointed polling places for the Province of Otago, for the election of Superintendent thereof : And whereas it is expedient to abolish the same :

Now know ye that I, Sir George Ferguson Bowen, the Governor of New Zealand, in pursuance of the power and authority in me vested by the said Act, do hereby abolish all existing polling places for the Province of Otago, for the election of Superintendent thereof, and do appoint in lieu thereof—

The Provincial Government Buildings, Dunedin. The School House, North-East Valley. The Court House, Port Chalmers. The Drill Shed, Kaikorai. The School House, Green Island. The School House, Kaikorai. The School House, Caversham. The School House, Mornington. The School House, Anderson's Bay. The School House, North Harbour.

671

The School House, Portobello. The School House, Blueskin. The School House, Merton. The Court House, Oamaru. The School House, Papakaio. The Court House, Marewhenua. The School House, Otepopo. The School House, Hampden. The Court House, Hawkesbury. The School House, Palmerston. The School House, Macraes. The Court House, West Taieri. The School House, East Taieri. The School House, North Taieri. The School House, Maungatua. The School House, Otakia. The School House, Waihola. The School House, Waihola Gorge. The Court House, Milton. The School House, Southbridge. The School House, Glenore. The School House, Kaitangata. The School House, Kattangata. The School House, Hill End. The Court House, Havelock. The Court House, Lawrence. The Court House, Waipori. The School House, Wetherstone's. The School House, Blue Spur. Lancaster's Store, Beaumont Ferry. The Court House Balclutha The Court House, Balclutha. The School House, South Clutha. The School House, Warepa. The School House, Warepa. The School House; Popotunoa. The Court House, Switzers. The Court House, Roxburgh. The School House, Miller's Flat West. The School House, Nokomai. Mr. Barbury's House, at Waitaki. The Court House, Arrowtown. The School House, Macetown. The Library, Skipper's Point. The Dwelling House of Lawton and Gardiner, Moko Creek. The Court House, Clyde. The Court House, Alexandra. The Court House, Black's. The House of Samuel McCulloch, Drybread. The House of Daniel Scally, Nevis. The Court House, Cromwell. The Public Hall, Kawarau Gorge. The School House, Newcastle. The House of Louis Grant, Bendigo. The Police Camp, Cardrona. The Court House, Naseby. The Court House, St. Bathan's. The Court House, Hamilton. The School House, Hyde. The House of Andrew Murray, Serpentine. ⁷ The School House, Tapanui. The School House, Tuturau. The School House, Mimihau. The Court House, Riverton. The Warden's Office, Orepuki. The School House, Gummie's Bush. Dr. Hodgkinson's House, Mount Fairfax. John Howell's House, Flint's Bush. The School House, Walacetown. C. Martin's House, Ryal Bush. The Police Station, Winton. The Court House, Invercargill.

The Old Police Station, Dacre. The School House, Nevis. The House of Mr. Cowan, Hokanui. The House of Captain Hankinson, Linwood. The House of Mr. Johnston, Wrey's Bush. The House of Mr. McLean, Wairaki. And I do also hereby abolish the existing principal polling place for the Province of Otago for the election of Superintendent thereof, and do appoint in place thereof-The Provincial Government Buildings, Dunedin. Given under the hand of His Excellency Sir George Ferguson Bowen, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over Her Majesty's Colony of New Zealand and its Dependencies, and Vice-Admiral of the same; and issued at Wellington, this thirty-first day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy.

The Court House, Campbelltown.

W. GISBORNE.

Colonial Secretary's Office, Wellington, 31st December, 1870. IIIIIIIIII, 5186 December, 1870. IIIS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to appoint appoint

JOHN BURNSIDE, Esq., to be Returning Officer under "The Regulation of Elections Act, 1870," for the Electoral District of the City of Dunedin, for the election of Superin-tendent and Members of the Provincial Council of the Province of Otago.

W. GISBORNE.

Colonial Secretary's Office, (Judicial Branch,)

Wellington, 16th December, 1870.

IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to appoint

RICHARD WATSON WOON, Esq., of Wanganui, to be a Justice of the Peace for the Colony.

W. GISBORNE.

Native Office,

Wellington, 27th December, 1870.

IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to license

CHARLES DAVY, Esq.,

of Auckland, to survey lands under "The Native Lands Act, 1865."

DONALD MCLEAN.

TENDERS are invited for the Erection of a Court Wanganui, in the Province of House at Wellington.

General Conditions, Specifications, and Drawings may be seen at the Offices of the Colonial Architect. Wellington, and at the Resident Magistrate's Court, Wanganui.

Tenders will be received by the undersigned up to Noon on Saturday, the seventh day of January next. The lowest or any Tender not necessarily accepted. W. H. CLAYTON,

Colonial Architect.

28th December, 1870.

Printed under the author ty of the New Zealand Government, by GEORGE DIDSBURY, Government Printer, Wellington.